Metal > Metal

Why not create your own metal music?

<< < (5/10) > >>

Cargést:
"I'm going to build a house.  Now, I have no knowledge whatsoever of architecture, brickmaking, bricklaying, geology, geography, or any of the fields/skills necessary for house-building, but I guess I'll just feel it out along the way."

Learning music theory is basically taking the shortcut to anything you might work out on your own.  The wonderful thing about music is that someone's already thought of it all before, at least in terms of basic principles - learn those, and use them as building blocks to create something truly, consciously, worthwhile.

MilitantIdiotCrusher:
But my house has a definate shape in my mind ):. Maybe the way i described what im building was too pretentious sounding, like Bondage got hung up on. Here's a graph to outline what I'm trying to say(keep in mind there can be any number of "phrases" and chords/notes per riff, and I usually try to incorperate some of my limited knowledge of melody.)

RIFF 1:

"phrase" 1:
chord/note 1
chord/note 2
chord/note 3

"phrase" 2:
chord/note 4
chord/note 5
chord/note 6

RIFF 2:

"phrase" 2:
chord/note 5
chord/note 6
chord/note 4

"phrase" 1:
chord/note 2
chord/note 3
chord/note 1

RIFF 3:

"phrase" 1:
chord/note 3
chord/note 1
chord/note 2

"phrase" 2:
chord/note 6
chord/note 5
chord/note 4

the chords/notes cycle within the "phrases", and the "phrases" cycle within the riff. the riffs might cycle within the song, but i havent taken the time to work that out. If this isn't conscious, I give up and will definately study some theory.

Eleison:
People who say you need to know theory are full of crap, this is coming from someone who majors in music theory.  If you are composing classical music then yes, you need to know theory, but metal is much closer to a folk tradition, like any folk tradition, the transmission is aural.  Abstract theory in the classical sense is not useful in metal.

Bondage: