Sinister plans release of The Post-Apocalyptic Servant in May 2014


Thunderous Dutch death metal assailants Sinister return with a new album entitled The Post-Apocalyptic Servant which is slated for release in May 2014. The album will be released on Massacre Records and includes covers of songs by Morbid Angel, Agent Steel and Paradise Lost.

Sinister have released a sample track, “The Burden of Mayhem” in advance of the album’s entry into the market. The band made its name in the early death metal years with Cross the Styx which combined the percussive and fast tremolo sounds with an underpinning of melody, creating a mood between the aggressive darkness of American death metal and the melancholic emptiness of its European cousins.

Although it was legendary for Cross the Styx, Sinister probably peaked with 1996’s Hate, which combined the best riffology of percussive death metal (Suffocation, Pyrexia) with the type of unsettling melodies previously only found in black metal. The Post-Apocalyptic Servant (which is hopefully about Satan as the cover hints) will contain the following tracks:

  1. The Science Of Prophecy
  2. The Macabre God
  3. The Sculpture Of Insanity
  4. The End Of All That Conquers
  5. The Masquerade Of An Angel
  6. The Dome Of Pleasure
  7. The Post-Apocalyptic Servant
  8. The Art Of Skin Decoration
  9. The Saviour
  10. The Burden Of Mayhem
  11. Fall From Grace (Morbid Angel)
  12. Deadly Inner Sense (Paradise Lost)
  13. Unstoppable Force (Agent Steel)

Tags: , ,

5 thoughts on “Sinister plans release of The Post-Apocalyptic Servant in May 2014”

  1. Interesting. Agent Steel is a personal favorite of mine, but they’re one of the last bands I’d expect to be covered by a death metal band. I’ll be looking forward to seeing this.

  2. RALF says:

    That last riff is straight up Deicide Legion, have a feeling this will be one of their stronger albums.

  3. Their three earliest albums are A-, B+ and A in that order. Then this band kind of went to shit for two decades. Maybe they’ve reversed it, maybe not. I think we should have the RIGHT to download MP3s of albums like this in case Sinister have shat the bed yet again.

    1. Cretin says:

      There has been good stuff immediately before and after the woman took over vocal duties. Aggressive Measures was a kick in the nuts, so was Afterburner. Haven’t kept up with them since but Sinister can be generally relied on for a good hybrid of American and European styled DM.

    2. trystero says:

      I dont know how you figure it but Cross the Styx is an A album. The third may be a refinement of the style but nothing they have done since matches the almost shocking assault in songwriting of the first. Incredible riffs driven home powerfully, with rhythms better than Hate imo.

Comments are closed.