Deeds of Flesh - Trading Pieces


Review: The aspirant deathgrind warriors who created a masterful piece of initial work with Gradually Melted somehow let the requirements and image demands of being evil gore metallers go to their heads, and the result is a selfconsciously slavish album that indulges genre with every turn and fails to make good on the promise of the nascent style developing on the EP.


1. Carnivorous Ways
2. Born Then Torn Apart
3. Trading Pieces
4. Hunting Humans
5. Impious Offering
6. Acid Troops
7. Deeds of Flesh
8. Erected on Stakes
9. Chunks in the Shower
10. Blasted

Length: 30:19

Deeds of Flesh - Trading Pieces: Death Metal 1996 Deeds of Flesh

Copyright © 1996 Repulse

Although instrumentation and songwriting have in some ways improved they cannot surmount the lack of essential material, and in this contentless plain the style itself falls flat with its basic assumptions laid out as communicative material. Where they previously suppressed many of the moron metal elements, those are in strength here and overwhelm any chance even pure form had of rescuing this band, so it is fortunate they have generated consistently excellent work since.