Immortal - Live Zaandam

Production: Live album recorded from within the crowd. You here the yobs yelling for liquid respite and the dumb suggestions of the crowd, but you also get blasted with the vocals in extreme screeching ripped-open mayhem over the somewhat inaudible and crunchily abstracted guitars which provide some listening when not blasted out by the vocals, although always cut by the blast of the tom/bass. It's one of those "Bootleg Made in Hell" type situations.

Review: This bootleg is formatted as one long track with reasonably bad sound that captures mostly rhythm and highlights of tone, but not a complete pictures. However, this still remains one of the more popular Immortal bootlegs for pure spirit, energy in these frenetic songs, and its availability. An introduction of wind noises blown through some sort of insane PA distortion, with soft rising music in the background and chanting, sounds like a keyboard version of a soundtrack to a 50s war film and as such is the perfect introduction to the dissident music of the generation after the children of the 1950s.


1. Intro
2. Unsilent Storms in the North Abyss
3. Call of the Winter Moon
4. A Sign for the Norse Hordes to Ride
5. The Sun No Longer Rises
6. Eternal Years
7. On the Path to the Cemetary Gates
8. Unholy Forces of Evil
9. Pure Holocaust


Immortal - Live Zaandam: Black Metal 1996 Immortal

Copyright © 1996 Unofficial